How to be a successful start-up in today’s media driven outdoor industry: Example, Drake Dropper Calls

Every year we watch as a barrage of duck calls and call companies come and go. Why is that? Mainly, because the act of making a duck call for the sake of making a duck call is generally not that difficult.  The large call companies, RNT, Duck Commander, and Zink while they all make great calls, have really sown up the market for the up and comers. Unless one has the time and money to invest in the competitive calling circuit and a massive marketing campaign it is difficult for your call to quack loud enough to gain traction.  While I write this however, I am also thinking of a marketing video I showed my entrepreneurship class yesterday.  The speaker, Seth Godin, a world renowned marketing expert said “be remarkable” something people talk about.  He also said “market to those who are obsessed, the experts, and the rest will follow.”  Today, as I was scanning twitter I kept noticing this one call company that continually pops up on my feed, catching my attention, being “remarkable.” Drake Dropper Calls. Why is that one might ask?  How do they continually catch your eye amongst the other 1,200 or so you follow? My answer: 18

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

k gold flake embedded duck calls. Real grass camo inlayed calls.  Calls of nearly every style and color.  Calls that have bands lathed into the barrel.  Calls made out of 100 year old fence posts. Calls with split reeds.  and so on…  The craftsmanship is staggering. The designs are eye-catching.  The innovation and creativity are obvious.  This is a company I will continue to follow.

I write this to recognize a new company that understands how to be successful in today’s information overloaded society. For being remarkable and being something I can tell my buddies about this weekend standing in the timber.

So here’s to you Drake Dropper Calls and it is my belief that as you continue to market to the niche crowd and the obsessed like myself, the rest will begin to follow.  Hunt on!

Leave a comment